Tags

,

c87eb7a99ca234f306cb7ff61cda2818cdf7800c

Some time ago I wrote of the Javanese Princess in the post here, and now I would like to introduce the Sundanese Princess.

The story begins with Hamad and Putri, a young Sundanese couple who got married and went on their honeymoon to Bali. When they returned Putri called her mother, who asked how the honeymoon was.

“Oh, ibu” she replied, “the honeymoon was perfect. So romantic…” But then Putri started crying. “But ibu, as soon as we returned home Hamad started using the rude words, saying things I’ve never heard before! I mean, really bad 4-letter words! You must get me and take me home….please ibu!!!”

“Calm down, Putri,’ said her mother. “Tell me, what could be so awful?  What 4-letter words?”

Still crying, Putri whispered, “Oh, ibu…words like ‘dust’, ‘wash’, ‘cook’ and ‘iron’…”

