Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

da31efbf1ccf2cac0465f47be55f7be2314ba9cc

To my great disappointment I haven’t explored the concept of power on this blog as much as I would like.

Nevertheless, I have a vague sense of having written more on this particular topic than a quick search of my website suggests, so forgive me please if I have written on this previously or introduced the same resources in another post.

A good starting point may be the link here.  I quote from that website in stating that…”Professor Geert Hofstede conducted one of the most comprehensive studies of how values in the workplace are influenced by culture. He defines culture as “the collective programming of the mind distinguishing the members of one group or category of people from others”.

The website goes on to outline six dimensions through which culture can be measured, with further details on the same page. I encourage you to read them before going further.

When you have a better idea of what these dimensions measure I encourage you to then visit the page here and, using the drop-down box to select different countries in Southeast Asia, reflect on how the values for each of the 6 dimensions appear in respective nations. Note that after a first country has been selected a second and third country can be selected to compare values.

This is an extraordinarily valuable tool for understanding and comparing nation state workplaces and their broader cultural environments in Southeast Asia, and all credit to Professor Geert Hofstede, Gert Jan Hofstede, Michael Minkov and their research teams.

Note that I agree the link between the topic and the chosen picture is tenuous. Searching for a picture that encapsulates Southeast Asia and workplace power (and is copyright free, and can be located) is just too time consuming right now. Or perhaps, for those who have worked in Southeast Asia, they see a great connection! Anyway, I like the picture and that’s enough for now:))

